Mrs. Capricious
1 min readMay 12, 2022

--

I AM an actual female homosexual. My medical records say Female. I happily say I'm Sapphic, a dyke, a lesbian, a wlw. If a new word were coined I'd use that too because it describes what I am - a woman who loves women.

And it's none of your business.

Trans women is two words; adjective and noun. 'transwomen' is a neologism designed to deny our womanhood.

Yes, I've always been a lesbian, since my sexual awakening at 11. So it's not an appropriation. What's your point? Are cis lesbians who don't come out as Sapphic until later in life actually straight until that point? No, no they are not. Neither was I.

And yes, sigh, it IS the definition of transphobia that ANYONE denies my validity. Kinda the same as back when people couldn't conceive of women loving women, or that women deserved the vote, or, or, or... Just another damn thing to be bigoted about.

Calling a cis woman 'cis' is not denying their lived experience. It's a very very simple Latin antonym for 'trans'. If people want to call me trans then by definition they are cis. In fact those who deny they're cis, yourself included I'm sure, are the ones denying your own existence. Your gender has not changed. That is the definition of 'cisgender'.

Oh BTW... What's your dog in this fight??

--

--

Mrs. Capricious

Capricious by name, steadfast by nature. Trans femme dyke. Smutsmith. Provocateur. Witch. Poet. Slut. Idiot.