Mrs. Capricious
Oct 25, 2021

--

Thanks Justine for such a considered piece.
As a trans woman I too find aspects of drag problematic. Especially when as high profile a performer as Ru Paul states that he likes being about to take his femininity off at the end of the day (I paraphrase ofc).

My own femininity, my womanhood, was (and still is) hard won. I pay the price every day.

I understand drag and what it seeks to reclaim. But the respondents you quote were right in feeling aggrieved because while drag is mainstream now, understanding of trans people is anything but. And, frankly, it hurts that the general public can't tell the difference.

I'm a dyke and fiancée is also trans. As a trans lesbian couple, can you imagine how we are treated by society?

Thank you.

--

--

Mrs. Capricious

Capricious by name, steadfast by nature. Trans femme dyke. Smutsmith. Provocateur. Witch. Poet. Slut. Idiot.